top of page

October Movie Experiences

During the month of October, I went to see two new movies. Let's get into them:

"It"

Before I say anything bad about this movie (which spoiler alert, I very much intend to do so) I wanna talk about the moviegoing experience a little bit because it was unique. I saw it at a drive-thru in Mansfield, Connecticut with my girlfriend. It was something I've always wanted to do when I was a kid, I guess because of the opening to The Flintstones or whatever.

The movie on the other hand to be fair but totally blunt, was disappointing. Bill Skarsgard didn't convince me that he was scary enough to be Pennywise. It was very cliched and had me lose interest as a moviegoer. But there was something I did find positive about it, the kid's adult like humor was something I could relate to. These kids were 13-14 years old and they had the comedic timing of Louis CK. It was fascinating.

"Happy Death Day"

This movie experience was a little more surreal. I saw this movie with a couple friends from work after realizing we had nothing to do. We had just gotten paid the previous day and wanted to see the newest movie that came out. We had gone in expecting it to be a hackneyed piece of garbage and much to our surprise we ended up enjoying ourselves.

The movie was the lovechild of Scream and Groundhog Day (an odd yet intriguing combination) and it made me value life a little more than I already did. The plot focused around a self centered girl repeating the same day over and over after being killed and by the end of the movie, she was a much more tolerable person. Which begs the question; does death make people more conscious of themselves?

************************************************

So that's this month's blog post. A little bit more unusual but I will keep them coming.

bottom of page